The 15th International Convention of the East Asian Economic Association

Sustainable and Inclusive Development in Asia and the Global Economy

November 5-6, 2016 in Bandung INDONESIA


Hosted by





  • Abstract submission due: 31 May
  • Session Proposal deadline: 31 May
  • Notification of Abstract Acceptance: 30 June
  • Full paper submission due: 1 September
  • Paper Presenter registration due: 30 September
  • Convention dates: 5 – 6 November


The Program Committee is now issuing a call for papers related to the Convention theme and for papers on a wide range of economics issues. We consider all academic papers that are applied, empirical and policy-relevant in nature and related to Asia. Pure theory papers will not be considered. Possible topics for session titles and papers include, but are not limited to, the following:

  1. Economic Integration
  1. Multinationals and the Global Economy
  2. Economic Growth and Income Disparity
  3. Global Imbalances
  4. Green Growth and Sustainable Development
  5. The Economics of Disasters
  6. The Indonesian Economy
  7. The Economics Profession and Teaching
  8. Exchange Rates and Currency Crisis
  9. Financial Institutions and Markets
  10. Firm Behavior
  11. Food and Agricultural Policy
  12. Growth and Productivity
  13. Household Behavior
  14. International Trade and Trade Policy
  15. International Investment and Capital Flows
  16. Supply Chain and Economic Development
  17. Institutions and Economic Analysis
  18. Labor and Human Resource Economics
  19. Macroeconomic Management
  20. Natural Resource and Environmental Economics
  21. Poverty and Income Distribution
  22. Public Sector Economics
  23. Services Sector Economics
  24. Technology and Economic Analysis
  25. Corruption and Development


Authors who wish to present a paper at the Convention should submit an abstract of the proposed paper not exceeding 200 words to: by 31 May 2016. Participants can only be the corresponding and presenting author for a maximum of one submission. All paper presenters must also serve as discussant for one paper to be assigned by the Committee. As such, all participants are expected to attend both days. Also please indicate the session(s) you think your paper would appropriate for by listing up to three sessions at the bottom of the abstract. Abstracts should be submitted in MS-Word format using English Language Times Roman fonts.


In addition to individual paper writers, we welcome session organizers. Session organizers are responsible for providing a title and description of the scope of their session, inviting speakers and discussants to participate in the session. The contact address for this category is: Professor Craig R. Parsons at The deadline to submit abstracts, the scope of their session and a list of participants is also 31 May 2016.


The Program Committee will use abstracts of proposed papers to evaluate applications to present papers at the Convention. Evaluation of abstracts will be based primarily on the quality of the economic analysis that abstracts indicate the paper will contain, and secondarily on appropriateness of the proposed paper for the Convention. Authors will be informed of the results of this evaluation by 30 June 2016.


The deadline for submission of full papers selected for presentation is 1 September 2016. Detailed instructions will be distributed to authors whose papers have been chosen for the Convention. Papers must follow the style and format used in the Asian Economic Journal; see the submissions page at It should not exceed 30 double-spaced A4 pages or 8000 words using 12 point font. Papers should be submitted via using English Language Times Roman fonts.


All the participants are required to register. EAEA Member:

  • Non Asian Developing Countries: IDR 2.5 Million
  • Asian Developing Countries: IDR 2 Million
Non EAEA Member:
  • Non Asian Developing Countries: IDR 3.6 Million (includes membership fee USD 80)
  • Asian Developing Countries: IDR 2.6 Million (includes membership fee USD 40)
The payment DEADLINE is 30 September 2016. Note :
  • Developing Countries in Asia is defined identical to the "Instructions for Authors" in Asian Economic Journal (click here)
  • Organizer will send the invoice and payment method through participant's email


Hotel Prama Grand Preanger

Bandung's scenic landscapes, cultural signatures, historic buildings and culinary wonders make it a popular weekend getaway since a long time ago. First opened in the 1920s, the hotel retains the grace and style of the colonial era while integrating the comfort of a modern business hotel, complete with West Javanese hospitality. Get special price, drop off and pick up service from/to Husein Sastranegara Airport - BDO and Bandung Railway Station via online reservation system (Username : eaea2016 | Password : unpad35)

Jl. Asia Afrika No.81, Bandung, Indonesia.

Online Booking

Tentative Agenda

08.00 - 09.00


09.00 - 09.30

Opening Ceremony and Photo Sessions

09.30 - 10.00

Keynote Speech

Muliaman Darmansyah Hadad
The Chairman of Board of Commissioners of the Financial Services Authority (OJK). Mr. Hadad has graduated from Faculty of Economics at University of Indonesia in 1984 before continuing his Master’s degree at John F. Kennedy School of Government of Harvard University in Massachusetts, the U.S., in 1990 and earned Master of Public Administration degree a year later. In 1996, Mr. Hadad received a Ph.D. degree in business and economics from Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. Mr. Hadad also the chair of Association of Indonesian Economist (ISEI).

10.00 - 10.30

Coffee Break

10.30 - 12.30

Parallel Session 1

12:30 - 13.30

Lunch Break

13.30 - 15.30

Parallel Session 2

15.30 - 16.00

Coffee Break

16.00 - 17.30

Parallel Session 3

08.30 - 10.30

Parallel Session 4

10.30 - 11.00

Coffee Break

11.00 - 12.00

Plenary Session

Speaker: Ross Gregory Garnaut AO 
Professorial Research Fellow in Economics at the University of Melbourne.

12.00 -13.00

Lunch Break

13.00 - 15.00

Parallel Session 5

15.00- 15.30

Coffee Break

15.30 - 17.30

Parallel Session 6



  • Shigeyuki Abe (Doshisha University)
  • Anggito Abimanyu (Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education, Indonesia)
  • Armida S. Alisjahbana (Universitas Padjadjaran)
  • Julan Du (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Hal Hill (Australian National University)
  • Soyoung Kim (Seoul National University)
  • Kozo Kiyota (Keio University)
  • Ari Kuncoro (University of Indonesia)
  • Akira Kohsaka (Kwansei Gakuin University)
  • Colin McKenzie (Keio University)
  • Jayant Menon (Asian Development Bank)
  • Oleksandr Movshuk (Toyama University)
  • Craig R. Parsons (Yokohama National University)
  • Eric D. Ramstetter (Asian Growth Research Institute)
  • Budy P. Resosudarmo (Australian National University)
  • Kiyotaka Sato (Yokohama National University)
  • Shandre Thangavelu (University of Adelaide)
  • Arief A. Yusuf (Universitas Padjadjaran)


Advisory Committee

  • Rector Universitas Padjadjaran
  • Nury Effendi (Dean, Faculty of Economics & Business, Universitas Padjadjaran )
  • Yudi Azis (Vice Dean for Finance & General Administration Affairs, Faculty of Economics and Business, Universitas Padjadjaran)
  • Rina Indiastuti (Head of Economics Department, Faculty of Economics and Business, Universitas Padjadjaran)
Steering Committee
  • Armida S. Alisjahbana, Chair
  • Arief Anshory Yusuf, Vice Chair
Organizing Committee
  • Mohamad Fahmi, Chair
  • Heriyaldi, Secretary
  • Iqbal Dawam Wibisono